Our People

President - James Anderson-Pole

Responsibilities: TBC

Qualifications: Bachelor of Commerce, Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Primary), partial completion of Certificate in Deaf Studies (DEAF801-804).

Teaching experience: Community classes at Onehunga High School, Auckland Deaf Society and other providers in Auckland; taster classes and NZSL courses for Deaf Aotearoa; mainstream and Deaf provision classes at various schools in Auckland; one-on-one tutoring for freelance clients and Merge.

Vice President - Candice David

Responsibilities: TBC

Qualification: Certificate in Deaf Studies: Teaching NZSL.

Teaching experience: Over 5 years of experience teaching NZSL in various settings: community education, hospitals, businesses/workplaces, and school & kindergartens.

Executive Committee - Amber Tiopira-Waaka

Info coming

Executive Committee - Becky West

Info coming

Executive Committee - Jaime Brown

Info coming

Executive Committee - Mike Alley

Info coming

Executive Committee - Peter Barker

Info coming

Executive Committee - Ruth Whyte

Responsibilities: Professional Development & Mentoring, RAP, Complaints procedures.

Qualifications: Bachelor of Education (Primary); Certificate of Interpreting (Auslan); NAATI Auslan-English qualification; Certificate in Deaf Studies: Teaching NZSL.

Teaching experience: Teaching community education classes for 5 years; NZSL Tutor at van Asch Deaf Education Centre.

Staff - Theresa Cooper

Role: NZSLTA Executive Administrator (previously titled as Communications Co-ordinator and Finance Administrator)

Qualification: Certificate in Deaf Studies: Teaching NZSL; Postgraduate Diploma in Museum Studies; Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (Honours).

Teaching experience: Eight years of teaching NZSL classes in various settings, including government departments, private businesses, and community education.

Life members: Lynette Pivac, Shona McGhie, David McKee, Josje Lelijveld

Deceased life members: Penny Went, Dennis Tod

Last updated: 6/8/2020